I wanted to run a large corporation by 25… Now i just want to enjoy my life!

Running a business was my dream after college. I was on a track, because as a senior in college i had studied abroad, got an internship at an Interior Design firm and was about to graduate on time! [Obviously a CEO position was in my near future.] Once graduating, i was offered a job at the internship, a small interior design firm consisting of the CEO and I, and within two years we had 3 more employee’s, two interns and were able to accept some much larger and exciting clients. By this time i had moved into an office manager position and was running the behind the scenes; purchasing, tracking, managing sub-contractors, managing interns, organizing the offices, the design library, invoicing clients, meeting with a consulting CPA, etc. I was also having a blast going to networking events, team lunches, having vendors come into the office to tell us about their new products, etc.

Ericka and Tamara at Comerge, 6* Networking event

As much as this job challenged me and sometimes caused minor anxiety attacks, i was working in the industry I had studied and I was very proud of that! After a surprising realization that our monies weren’t where they needed to be, my boss started to make some layoff’s. First the recent hired intern, then one of the designers, then me… I was told two weeks was all she needed to get back on her feet, but what she didn’t realize was that that was not gonna work for me. So the mad dash to find a new job was on! Luckily i had kept my college nanny position and was able to hang on until offered a new design job just a month later.

Piece of advice: Never lose your college nanny job! I have more connections and “family” away from home than i ever would without those families. They also saved me in my early twenties when i was in need of some quick cash. 

My second interior design position was a bit different in that i was a “design assistant”. This time i was designing, project managing and consulting. A huge step in the right direction. But just a year after being at this design job, i lost that one too. Budgets man… This is when i realized that working 9-5 wasn’t worth it. But to explain a little more why you must see this first.

Graduation: May 2012

  • Office assistant for a large company selling fuel additives out of their back house
  • Nanny for 3 or 4 families at a time
  • Volunteer/free lunch employee of design firm
  • Full time office manager for said design firm
  • Personal assistant for a business coach
  • Consultant for local skate company in my free time
  • Design assistant for Rock Church
  • Stewardship coordinator for Rock Church
  • Bookstore sales associate for Rock Church
  • Receptionist for Rock Church
  • Hostess at Island Prime/C Level
  • Nanny for another family

Now: May 2015

Currently I am working in a bookstore part time, nannying (what did i tell you) and working in one of the nicest restaurants in San Diego. Surprisingly, this is still not working for me because i am too tired to enjoy life, and my motto is to live life to the fullest, so i will just have to see where this takes me!

11065890_10152918758842689_2216872993726285531_n


JOIN ME ON THIS ADVENTURE OF FINDING MYSELF IN MY TWENTIES !

Leave a Reply

